Tennis is an amazing sport where the goal is to try to be the last one to place the ball in the boundaries of your opponent's court.
Saturday, February 26, 2011
Confusing Court Ruling
Radwanka (player in the blue) lost a point from a very confusing court ruling.
Warning: This can be really confusing and make your head hurt.
Alright, so, The ball hit by Safarova (white) was called IN by the linesman, then immediately corrected to "out". This would mean Radwanka wins the point.
But right then Radwanka challenged thinking that the ball was called IN by the umpire, so therefore she was saying that the ball was out. She did not know that the ball had been called out and ended up trying to prove something that was against her.
Looking from the view of the rules: this is Safarova's point.
However, the umpire shouldn't have let Radwanka challenge because it wouldn't have been for her benefit (if you look at it from an ethical point of view).
You make the call: should Radwanka have been given the chance to challenge?
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment